EASy68K  
It is currently Thu Oct 19, 2017 12:40 pm

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Tue Jun 18, 2013 11:22 am 

Hello all!

Quick introduction:
Hi I'm Rich. I've been a professional programmer for over 15 (over 25 years if you count my youth), always at a higher level and never been in to hardware, I've never really needed to understand the lowest level. I was a massive Amiga user + fan (still am).

So... recently I booted up my old Amiga 500 and realised I had a simple tutorial for writing games in assembly language. On Amiga Format issue 39 they gave away a free copy of DevPac 2. Fired it up, followed the first tutorial and really enjoyed it. It stumped me as a kid, but now I fully understood it. Over the next few weeks I'll be following the rest of the tutorial. I've also downloaded several books, tutorials and resources for the Amiga so I'm slowly getting to grips with it all.

One of the things I would love to do is write my assembly code on my PC, then some how transfer to my Amiga to speed up the whole process. I'd forgotten how slow it is to work off floppy disks all the time :( One of the reasons how I stumbled across EASy68k.

Questions:
I'm yet to properly get stuck in, I've been doing lots of googling about, but some questions have popped in to my head already which I hope people can help me with.

1a) Do programs written in 68k assembler work on any machine with a 68k processor?

1b) Can I use EASy68k to write programs that I can run directly on my Amiga? I mean, if I write a program, can I open the same file in say DevPac and it will work?

2) I hear about different machines have say different processors to handle graphics and sound, are these handled THROUGH the 68k processor? So do I instruct the main processor to talk to the other hardware, or do I need to write individual programs for each of the processors? And then some how link them up?

3) Can EASy68k be used to write stuff for the Sega MegaDrive (Genesis) ?