EASy68K
http://easy68k.com/EASy68Kforum/

Reset: Initial SSP
http://easy68k.com/EASy68Kforum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1554
Page 1 of 1

Author:  cbovbjerg [ Tue Jul 26, 2016 3:55 pm ]
Post subject:  Reset: Initial SSP

I'm having a little trouble with the simulator. I'm using it to simulate bootloader code for some custom hardware. But as far as i can tell the behaviour at reset is different between the simulator and a real 68000. The following is stated in the help files:
Quote:
When the simulator starts up the supervisor bit is set on and the supervisor stack pointer is set to the value 1000000 (hex).

I expect the simulator to load the initial SSP at address $0 as the hardware would. I could make a debug flag to use when i simulate the code and set the SSP manually but I feel like I'm missing something obvious. And i really dont want too many dissimilarities between the simulated code and the code running on my hardware. Can anybody help me out?

Author:  profkelly [ Tue Jul 26, 2016 7:58 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Reset: Initial SSP

Select Enable Exceptions under the Options menu.
Select Hardware under the View menu.
The Reset button on the hardware panel will perform a hardware reset of the 68000 including loading stack and PC from the contents of the first 8 bytes of memory.

Author:  cbovbjerg [ Tue Jul 26, 2016 9:51 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Reset: Initial SSP

Thanks a lot! It is a little cumbersome to manually reset the simulator every time but it does do exactly what i needed!

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/