EASy68K  
It is currently Wed Sep 20, 2017 4:40 pm

All times are UTC

Post subject: Dissassembler
PostPosted: Tue Mar 24, 2009 2:07 am 

Hi,

Does anybody know of a good Dissassembler that can read a binary/s-record file and recreate the assembly code.

I have lost an entire projects source code and I only have the ROMs I burnt left containing my code.

Thanks
Kenneth

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 24, 2009 11:53 am 

There is a post with a link to a dissassembler. I have only tried it once.
http://www.easy68k.com/EASy68Kforum/vie ... =1356#1356

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 24, 2009 10:29 pm 

Thanks for the link.

Post subject: Re: Dissassembler
PostPosted: Sat Jan 30, 2016 2:36 pm 

Rather than starting my own topic, since I'm rather new to assembly, I thought that I would hijack this thread.

I have an interest in learning assembly code in order to understand some machine instructions on some hardware that I own.

Fortunately, I have found that the controller uses a MC68376, a variant of the CPU32.

MC68376 Information

Even better, apparently the 68k is a common platform for teaching assembly instructions. Thank you all for making this community available.

Since I know nothing about assembly (and because I don't want to purchase IDA in order to disassemble my controller's memory), I thought that I would learn assembly by writing a disassembler for the 68k code (in the form of an s record) that runs on the controller of interest.

First, I found a list of all of the assembly code instructions and how they are encoded in binary:

MC68000 User Reference Manual

I then went through this document and extracted all of the formats for what I perceived as relevant instructions. I had to understand how effective addressing was encoded too. Similarly, some instructions do not allow certain effective addressing modes, so I tried to account for this.