EASy68K  
It is currently Mon Sep 25, 2017 4:09 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Results not as expected.
PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2009 8:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 12:57 am
Posts: 27
Location: Australia
I have given this a go and the result is not as I would like.

Steps I followed.
1) I set the "Binary Output Split" to 2 files.
2) Selected File > Open Binary and selected my first file.
3) Set the "First Address" to 00000001.
4) Selected File > Open Binary and selected my second file.

Results in all the data from address 00000001 onwards being replaced by the second file.

I am trying to merge a Hi(8bits) and Lo(8bits) back into a single 16bit file. So the first file should fill only the even address and the second file should fill the odd address.

Thanks
Kenneth


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 1:05 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 6:42 pm
Posts: 1046
Your steps look correct but you do not get the results that I get. I just verified the operation again using two binary files. One file contained all $55 and the other file contained all $AA.
My files look like this:

55 file:

55 55 55 55 55 55 55 55 ....

AA file:

AA AA AA AA AA AA AA ....


Here is what I did and the result I get:


1) Set Binary Input/Output Split to 2 Files
2) Open Binary... and select the $AA file. I see the $AA pattern loaded into every other byte.
3) Set Binary File(s) "First Address:" to $000001
4) Open Binary... and select the $55 file. The memory now looks like this:

Code:
00000000: AA 55 AA 55 AA 55 AA 55 .....


Are your files already padded with extra bytes?

Make sure you are using EASyBIN v2.0.0

_________________
Prof. Kelly


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 1:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 12:57 am
Posts: 27
Location: Australia
Sorry about this,

I some how manged to be trying to use an old version 1 copy of EasyBin. Just tried it in version 2.0.0 and all is working as expected.

If only we could dis-assemble the code in Sim68K or Edit68K, I would no longer need any other tools to do my development.

Keep up the excellent work.

Thanks for the help.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 3:56 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 6:42 pm
Posts: 1046
No problem, happy to know it's not a bug I need to fix.

kkeeley wrote:
If only we could dis-assemble the code in Sim68K or Edit68K, I would no longer need any other tools to do my development.

I have a friend who is writing a disassembler. When he completes it I am going to include it.

_________________
Prof. Kelly


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 8:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 12:57 am
Posts: 27
Location: Australia
Great to hear that we will one day get a disassembler as well include in this wonderful tool.

I look forward to giving it a go.

Kenneth


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group